Dr. Lian Hmung Sakhong

Dr. Lian Hmung Sakhong


Dr. Lian H. Sakhong, Union Minister of Ministry of Federal Union Affair at National Unity Government of the Union of Myanmar (NUG), is the Vice Chairman of Chin National Front (CNF), and Council Member of the Chinland Council. He was the Vice Chairman of Union Peace and Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC), a committee jointly formed by the Government of the Union of Burma/Myanmar and Ethnic Armed Organizations. The Chairperson of UPDJC is Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, the State Counsellor of the Union of Myanmar. He is leading the (10) Ethnic Armed Organizations in political negotiation with the government to end 75 years of Ethnic Armed Conflict in Burma by finding a political solution based on the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) signed in 2015. The peace process, however, was abruptly disturbed by the military coup in February 2021.

                Dr. Lian H. Sakhong quicky joined the anti-military coup Spring Revolution, and the Committee for Representing Pyidaungsuu Hlutdaw (CRPH) appointed him as Union Minister of Federal Union Affairs. Within his capacity as Union Minister of Ministry of Federal Union Affairs, he chairs the “Transitional Constitution Preparation Committee” (TCPC), and the TCPC has finished its initial draft and summit to NUCC to be approved at the People’s Assembly. Dr. Lian H. Sakhong is a member of “National Defense and Security Council” (NDSC) at NUG, and “Alliance Relation Committee” (ARC) with ethnic resistance groups and political parties. He also chairs “Federal and States Coordination Committee” (FSCC), to establish inter-governmental relationship between federal and states governments in accordance with federal arrangement.  

                He has written numerous articles and papers on the political and social situation in modern Burma, including his books: Religion and Politics among the Chin People in Burma (Uppsala University, 2000), In Search of Chin Identity: A Study in Religion, Politics and Ethnic Identity in Burma (Copenhagen: Nordic Institute of Asian Studies, 2003), In Defense of Identity: Ethnic Nationalities’ Struggle for Democracy, Human Rights and Federalism in Burma (Bangkok: Orchid Press, 2010), and The New Panglong Initiative: Re-building the Union of Burma (together with Dr. Chao-Tzang Yawnghwe, 2002), Designing Federalism in Burma (together with David Williams, 2003), Ending Ethnic Armed Conflict in Burma (together with Paul Keenan, 2014).     

               He also published several books in Burmese, including: Federalism and Ethnic Issues in Burma: Collection of Political Writings 1988-2008 (Chiang Mai, 2008, reprinted 5 times), Principles of Democracy (Chiang Mai, Aizawl and Rangoon: 2012, reprinted 10 times andf translated into 6 ethnic languages), Some Characteristic of Federalism (Rangoon: 2013; reprinted 7 times and translated into 6 ethnic languages), The Spirit of the Panglong Agreement (Chiang Mai: 2003, and Yangon: 2013; reprinted 5 times), Struggle for a Genuine Federal Union: The Federal Movement in 1961-62 (Chiang Mai: 2002, updated version Yangon: 2015, and reprinted 2 times); also edited a series of ten books under the title of Peaceful-coexistence: Towards Federal Union of Burma (Chiang Mai: UNLD Press, between 1999 and 2006). Recently, he edited a series four books on peace process under the title of Stuggle for Peace in Burma (Yangon: Vol.1, 2015, Vol.2 and Vol.3, 2016, Vol.4, 2017). He also produced two handbooks on "Principles of Federalism" for Ethnic Armed Organizations' Political Sector and National Dialogue.    

                He worked as the Chairman of the Ethnic Nationalities Council - ENC (2008-2012), General Secretary of ENC (2001-2008), the Chairman of the Chin National Council - CNC (2004-2010), the Chairman of Chin National League for Democracy – CNLD Exile (2008-2012), General Secretary of CNLD (1988-1990), General Secretary of CNLD-Exile (1992-2008), General Secretary of United Nationalities League for Democracy-Liberated Areas (UNLD-LA: 1998-2010), Secretary of Supporting Committee for State Constitutions – SCSC (2001-2006), and Secretary of Federal Constitution Drafting and Coordinating Committee – FCDCC (2005-2008). He was awarded Martin Luther King Prize in 2007 in Stockholm, Sweden.